Circular data · published Friday 23 October 2026
Circular 38 of 2026 in numbers
DPSA Public Service Vacancy Circular 38 of 2026 advertised 623 posts across 37 departments. Gauteng had the most, with 280 (45%). That is 529 more than Circular 37 (94). 44 posts are at salary levels 1 to 5, and 80 say no experience is needed. 14 are internships or learnerships.
- 623posts advertised+529 vs Circular 37
- 44at salary levels 1–5
- 80say no experience needed
- 14internships and learnerships
- 0closing within 7 days of publication
- 47average posts in the 4 circulars before+576 this circular
Posts by province
| Province | Posts | Share | vs Circular 37 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gauteng | 280 | 45% | +265 |
| National | 122 | 20% | +122 |
| Limpopo | 66 | 11% | +66 |
| Western Cape | 60 | 10% | −17 |
| KwaZulu-Natal | 31 | 5% | +30 |
| Eastern Cape | 21 | 3% | +21 |
| Northern Cape | 17 | 3% | +17 |
| Free State | 14 | 2% | +13 |
| Mpumalanga | 8 | 1% | +8 |
| North West | 4 | 1% | +4 |
Top 10 departments
37 departments advertised in this circular.
Salary levels
| Salary level | Posts |
|---|---|
| Levels 1–5 (entry) | 44 |
| Levels 6–8 | 40 |
| Levels 9–12 | 51 |
| Levels 13+ (SMS) | 9 |
| Level not stated | 479 |
"Level not stated" includes OSD posts, which are graded differently. What the levels pay.
How these numbers are counted
Every number is a count of the posts govposts extracted from the official circular, including posts later withdrawn. "No experience needed" means the requirements say so in words; "internships" are posts paying a stipend or titled as internships, learnerships or graduate programmes. Always check the circular itself before applying.